Graduate College

Distinguished Scholar Award



On April 11, 1991 (revised March 10, 1994, February 16, 2004 & March 22, 2012), the UNI Graduate Council adopted guidelines for the Distinguished Scholar Award. A copy of the guidelines is available on the Graduate College website at  For additional information contact the Associate Dean (3-2748).

Nomination Deadline: December 7, 2018

Materials Submission Deadline: 4:30 p.m., February 1, 2019

Award: $1000

The University of Northern Iowa Distinguished Scholar Award, sponsored by the Graduate College and the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, honors eminent and distinguished artists and scholars among the UNI Graduate Faculty.

Eligibility and Criteria

Late-career scholars and artists with a long and distinguished record of publications, exhibits and/or creative activities while a member of the UNI faculty and whose professional reputation is national (and international where appropriate) are eligible for this award. Only a full-time tenured Regular Member of the Graduate Faculty with five years of full-time service at UNI may be nominated. A faculty member may receive the Distinguished Scholar Award only once. Faculty may not apply for the Distinguished Scholar Award, the James F. Lubker Faculty Research Award and the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Teaching Award in the same year.
If nominated for all of these awards, the faculty member will need to choose which award to apply for.

Selection Procedures

The selection process must begin with a formal nomination letter by the department or college regular graduate faculty, to be sent digitally to the Associate Dean of the Graduate College. Deadline for nominations is December 7, 2018. The nominee will be contacted by the Graduate College and asked to submit a package of materials for review. Deadline for receipt of materials is February 1, 2019 by 4:30 pm. A selection committee, chaired ex officio by the Associate Graduate Dean will be composed of two members of the Graduate Council, the Chair of the Graduate Faculty, one Distinguished Scholar, and one regular member of the Graduate Faculty. Every effort will be made to provide widespread representation from among the academic colleges. The Awardee will be recognized at the Annual Graduate Faculty meeting in April. The Awardee will receive a plaque and subsequently a $1000 award through payroll.