Graduate Council Minutes #866

September 11, 1997


Present: Bankston, Bozylinsky, Bruess, Chao, Dedrick, Hanson, Hays, Ishler (for S. Smaldino), Jackson, Kalkwarf, Kirmani, Osman, Raiklin, Safford, Schrage, Somervill, Thomas, Walker
Guests: Nancy Marlin (Vice President and Provost, Academic Affairs)
Hays moved that Minutes #865 be approved as published. Motion was seconded by Thomas and passed.
Somervill reported that the Student Advisory Committee, consisting of student representatives from each of the doctoral programs and masters programs in each of the five colleges, has met and representatives to the Graduate Council had been chosen. John Kalkwarf will be the Doctoral Student Representative for the fall semester with Doug Meinecke as an alternate. Christine Schrage was chosen as the Masters Student Representative.
Somervill updated current enrollment information. As of September 11, 1997, UNI graduate programs increased by about sixty students after enrollment had been down slightly in 1996 for the first time in ten years. There was no report on a breakdown of full and part time enrollment at this time.
Jackson announced members of the Graduate College Curriculum Committee. Members include Susann Doody (Education), Ahmed Elsawy (Natural Sciences), Carolyn Shields (Humanities & Fine Arts), and Philip Mauceri (Social & Behavioral Sciences).
Members and visitors were welcomed by Hays and introductions were made.
Somervill suggested choosing an unofficial secretary/treasurer for the Graduate Council to assist the student with the minutes. No motions were made to create this position. Walker agreed to work with the student on the minutes.
Osman nominated Kirmani for Chair of the Graduate Council. Nomination was seconded. There being no further nominations, Hays moved that a unanimous ballot be cast for Kirmani. Motion was seconded and passed.
Chao nominated Bankston for Vice Chair. Nomination was seconded. There being no further nominations, a unanimous ballot was cast for Bankston.
Somervill began discussion on the 3rd Draft of the UNI Policies and Procedures on Scientific Misconduct with a brief overview. Last year, the Council approved Somervill's request to write this policy due to a series of federal policies related to scientific misconduct. After completing the first draft, Somervill attended a June workshop in Washington D.C. and made revisions corresponding with a new model of policy from the Legal Council at Office of Research Integrity, adding specifications tailored for the UNI community. Somervill reviewed the policy with Tim McKenna, University Operations Auditor, and made changes in accordance with McKenna's suggestions. Somervill explained that once the Graduate Council approved the policy it would be sent to the Faculty Senate for action and then to the Provost, who will refer it to the Cabinet. Kirmani said he would like to discuss the policy with his department colleagues first. Members raised some concerns about how scientific conduct should be defined and Hays suggested considering a broader term. Somervill indicated that scientific misconduct is the term used by the Office of Research Integrity and that universities are required by the Federal Office to have policies on "scientific misconduct." Somervill recommended all suggestions for changes in wording be emailed to him in the next two weeks so the document can be discussed and acted upon at the September 25 Council meeting.
Kirmani requested email addresses for Council members be distributed. They are as follows: Bankston (Ronnie.Bankston), Bozylinsky (Garry.Bozylinsky), Bruess (Gregory.Bruess), Chao (Paul.Chao), Dedrick (Charles.Dedrick), Hanson (Curtiss.Hanson), Hays (Allen.Hays), Jackson (Vivian.Jackson), Kalkwarf (Kalkwaj9491), Kirmani (Syed.Kirmani), Osman (Augustine.Osman), Raiklin (Ernest.Raiklin), Safford (Herb.Safford), Schrage (Schragc3168), Smaldino (Sharon.Smaldino), Somervill (John.Somervill), Thomas (Calvin.Thomas), Walker (David.Walker). All are followed by
Somervill reported that Hans Isakson was unable to attend the meeting to discuss his request for an undergraduate representative on the Graduate College Curriculum Committee. Kirmani raised the question if the representative would be granted voting rights. Jackson will contact Isakson and address the topic at the September 25 meeting.
Walker reported that Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Award announcements have been distributed, with an October 10 deadline for nominations. In addition, a letter has been sent to the advisor for each thesis/dissertation written during the applicable time. The Graduate Council will need to form a committee by October 9 to discuss nominated manuscripts. Walker also reminded members of the October 13 deadline for nominations for the Distinguished Scholar Award. Guidelines are available in the Graduate College. The Council will also need to form a committee by October 9, consisting of the Graduate Faculty Chair, two Council members, one Distinguished Scholar, and one Regular member of the Graduate Faculty, to review the nominations.
Items to be publicized included the election of the two new officers to the Graduate Council.
Somervill reminded the Council that there had been no resolution made concerning set stipends or the possibility of variable stipends to be determined by departments. He commented that there will not be an increase in available funds and that departments may be reducing the number of stipends they offer if they choose to increase the amount of the award. Council will need to come to closure on this issue this semester.
The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Christina Stejskal

Secretary Next meeting will be September 25, 1997 at 3:30 p.m. in Seerley 3.